4.06.2010

Convert your time zone for deadlines

Dionna of Code Name: Mama and I are writing a few blogging tutorials of particular use for our Carnival of Natural Parenting participants. This one will help in making sure you get your carnival submission in by the right time, no matter where in the world you live!

world time zone clocks


All right, this is probably one of the lighter tutorials for our carnival participants, but it does come up every month, and I might as well have a blog post to point people to.

All the writers outside of the Pacific time zone I set the deadline for want to know: When is the article due in their time?

This tutorial can also help anyone who's writing for an editor across time-zone lines or entering a contest with a firm deadline.

Submissions for the Carnival of Natural Parenting are due by 11:59 p.m. Pacific time. Now, I'm not encouraging anyone to wait until the very last second to turn their entries in (although I generally do just that), but it's good to know the latest you can click "send" on the email, isn't it?

But if you live nowhere near Pacific time and can't do the math in your head:

You need a time zone converter.


Here's one:

World Time Server



The top line is showing you 11:45 p.m. (Daylight Saving Time) for Pacific time, the time zone I chose, because I live in Seattle. I wanted as much time as possible to turn in my article. I'm like that.

Find your own country, city, or state in the drop-down menu where it says "In."

Voila! Now you know what your actual deadline is.

Here's a cheat sheet for some of our most common entry time zones, adjusted for 11:59 p.m. PDT. If I say "next day," that means that time on the date after the stated carnival due date (for this carnival, then, April 7).

Time Zone Adjusted Time
Hawaii Time 8:59 p.m.
Alaska Aleutian Time 9:59 p.m.
Alaska Time 10:59 p.m.
Pacific Time 11:59 p.m.
Mountain Time 12:59 a.m. (next day)
Central Time 1:59 a.m. (next day)
Eastern Time 2:59 a.m. (next day)
Atlantic Time 3:59 a.m. (next day)
Western Africa Time 6:59 a.m. (next day)
Greenwich Mean Time 7:59 a.m. (next day)
Central European Time 8:59 a.m. (next day)
Eastern European Time 9:59 a.m. (next day)
India Standard Time 12:29 p.m. (next day)
Western Australia 2:59 p.m. (next day)
Japan Standard Time 3:59 p.m. (next day)
Australia New South Wales Time 4:59 p.m. (next day)
New Zealand Time 6:59 p.m. (next day)

What time zones am I forgetting? I'll add places if you leave a comment with a request.

Hope that helps you as you plan your procrastination!

April 11, ETA: I realized you might like a chart for Eastern time as well, since some of our Carnival day deadlines are in Eastern. Here you go, a conversion of noon EDT!

Time Zone Adjusted Time
Hawaii Time 6:00 a.m.
Alaska Aleutian Time 7:00 a.m.
Alaska Time 8:00 a.m.
Pacific Time 9:00 a.m.
Mountain Time 10:00 a.m.
Central Time 11:00 a.m.
Eastern Time 12:00 p.m.
Atlantic Time 1:00 p.m.
Western Africa Time 4:00 p.m.
Greenwich Mean Time 5:00 p.m.
Central European Time 6:00 p.m.
Eastern European Time 7:00 p.m.
India Standard Time 9:30 p.m.
Western Australia 12:00 a.m. (next day)
Japan Standard Time 1:00 a.m. (next day)
Australia New South Wales Time 2:00 a.m. (next day)
New Zealand Time 4:00 a.m. (next day)

P.S. A Facebook comment from mamamilkers said about this post: "I think you made have just taken nerd to the nth degree ;)" I'll take that as a compliment...

Photo copyright © Jenny Rollo, who lives on Australia NSW Time

3 comments:

Tim said...

That's exactly the one tool I was looking for!

Lauren @ Hobo Mama said...

Cool slider!

Carolyn S. said...

very helpful! thanxs!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...